About

What is PBIS?

What is “Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports?

Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports is a prevention framework for establishing and sustaining effective school-wide and individual behavior supports needed to enhance academic, social, and behavioral outcomes for all students.

What is the “Prevention Logic?”

The PBIS framework is based on a three-tiered prevention logic that has been promoted by the public health community (see following figure).

 

  • Tier 1 or primary prevention practices are established in all classroom and school-wide settings to (a) teach and encourage expected behavior, (b) prevent problem behavior, and (c) most importantly, maximize academic achievement. Tier 1 practices are implemented for all students by all staff across all settings.
  • Tier 2 or secondary prevention practices supplement Tier 1 to provide further behavior supports for students whose behaviors are at risk of failure and/or are unresponsive to Tier 1 practices. Tier 2 practices are implemented across small groups of students, usually across all school settings and by staff members who are responsible for teaching these students.
  • Tier 3 or tertiary prevention practices are implemented for students who behaviors are high risk of failure and/or unresponsive to Tiers 1 and 2. Tier 3 practices are highly specialized and implemented at the individual student level by a team with behavior expertise.
IS PBIS RIGHT FOR OUR SCHOOL?
Why do Schools Consider and Implement PBIS?

Most schools consider and implement PBIS because they are interested in

  • Increasing academic engagement and achievement.
  • Decreasing the use of reactive management
  • Improving classroom and school-wide climate and culture
  • Enhancing behavior support for students with chronic problem behaviors
  • Increasing capacity to integrate and implement academic and social behavior practices and systems with high accuracy.

https://www.pbis.org/school/swpbis-for-beginners

School-Wide PBIS readiness checklist

WHO ARE WE?
The primary goal of the Northeast PBIS Network is to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of PBIS implementation in schools and districts within the northeast states by enabling communications, information exchange, political visibility, technical assistance, and professional bridge to APBS

The network includes 10 northeast states

  1. Connecticut
  2. Delaware
  3. Maine
  4. Massachusetts
  5. New Hampshire
  6. New Jersey
  7. New York
  8. Pennsylvania
  9. Rhode Island
  10. Vermont

The NEPBIS network is coordinated by a steering committee and supported by a representative network advisory group (i.e., a leadership team comprising representatives from each state), which are both facilitated by Brandi Simonsen the regional network coordinator.

NAG as of 5.6.15.docx

PBIS IN THE NEWS AND RESEARCH
Links for current PBIS research

http://www.pbis.org/research

REGIONAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES
Regional employment opportunities listed here must include PBIS training as a primary job responsibility and be clearly linked to enhancing state or regional PBIS implementation capacity.
WHO IS MY STATE CONTACT?

Connecticut
Eben McKnight: mcknight@ctserc.org

Delaware
Debby Boyer: dboyer@udel.edu
Linda Smith: lsmith@doe.k12.de.us

Maine
Pat Red: pred@usm.maine.edu
Jim Artesani: James_Artesani@umit.maine.edu

Massachusetts
Madeline Levine: MLevine@doe.mass.edu

New Hampshire
Howard Muscott: HMuscott@seresc.net
JoAnne Malloy: joanne.malloy@unh.edu

New Jersey
Sharon Lohrmann: lohrmash@rwjms.rutgers.edu

New York
Steve Marchant: stephen.marchant@nysed.gov
Erin Brewer: erin.brewer@neric.org

Pennsylvania
James Palmiero: jpalmiero@pattan.net
Tina Lawson: tlawson@pattan.net

Rhode Island
Lavonne Nkomo: lnkomo@ric.edu
John Eagle: jeagle@ric.edu

Vermont
Sherry Schoenberg: Sherry.Schoenberg@uvm.edu
Amy Wheeler-Sutton: Amy.Wheeler-Sutton@uvm.edu

CONTACT US
Content on this website is provided for use by school teams, coaches and trainers. Content has been developed by members of the Northeast PBIS network and this site is supported in part by the OSEP Center on Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (https://www.pbis.org/). The Center is supported by a grant from the Office of Special Education Programs, US Department of Education (H326S130004). Opinions expressed herein are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the position of the US Department of Education, and such endorsements should not be inferred.

NAG as of 5.6.15.docx

X